ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS KAUA`I ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE

Held at KIUC Main Conference Room and Video Conference Call On March 27, 2025

MINUTES

Chair Smith called the meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.

1. Roll Call.

- 1.1. **Directors present:** Directors Allan Smith (Chair), Jan TenBruggencate (Vice Chair), Edmund Acoba, David Iha, James Mayfield, Calvin Murashige (Secretary), Teofilo Tacbian, Michael Yamane, and Peter Yukimura (Treasurer); David Bissell (CEO).
- 1.2. **Others present:** Mike Scarbo (Co-General Counsel), Teresa Amoy (Executive Administrator), Corinne Cuaresma (Controller), Beth Amaro (Member Services & Communications Mgr.), Shelley Paik (PA Specialist).
- 1.3. Others present via Video Conference Call: Lisa Ubay (Mgr. of HR & Safety), Chris Yuh (Mgr. of Finance, Risk & Analytics), Erin Tsuda (Finance Mgr.), Cameron Kruse (Engineering & Tech Mgr.), Daurice Arruda (Accounting Mgr.), Scott Sato (Energy Services Supervisor), Shelsey Francisco (Financial Analyst), Allison Young (Communications & PR Specialist), Jonah Knapp (Staff Engineer); Members of the press (0) and Members of the public (1)
- 2. **Approval of Agenda.** The Board of Directors' Annual Meeting agenda of March 27, 2025, was approved as circulated
- 3. Public Testimony. None
- 4. **Swearing in of new Directors.** At 1:02 p.m. General Counsel Laurel Loo administered the oath of office to the newly elected directors Edmund Acoba, Jan TenBruggencate, and Peter Yukimura.
- 5. Executive Session. No Executive Session.
- 6. Organizational Items.
 - 6.1. <u>Election of Officers for 2025</u> Nominations for officers and committees were presented by Vice Chair TenBruggencate as follows:
 - Director Smith for Chair
 - > Director TenBruggencate for Vice Chair
 - Director Murashige for Secretary
 - Director Tacbian for 1st Assistant Secretary
 - > Director Yukimura for Treasurer

> Director Mayfield for 1st Assistant Treasurer

MOTION: Director TenBruggencate moved to approve the slate for the Board officers. Director Murashige seconded the nomination, which carried unanimously.

[Motion: TenBruggencate] [Second: Murashige]

IN FAVOR:	Smith, TenBruggencate, Murashige, Yukimura	
	Acoba, Yamane, Iha, Mayfield, Tacbian	Total – 9
OPPOSED:	None	Total – 0
EXCUSED:	None	Total – 0

Motion carried

- 6.2. <u>Committee Appointments for 2025</u>:
 - > Executive
 - ◊ Chair Jan TenBruggencate
 - Members Calvin Murashige, Allan Smith, Peter Yukimura, staff member CEO Bissell
 - Finance & Audit (F&A)
 - Ochair Peter Yukimura
 - Members Jan TenBruggencate, James Mayfield, Calvin Murashige, Allan Smith, and staff member CFO
 - Government Relations & Legislative Affairs (GRLA)
 - Ochair Phil Tacbian
 - Members David Iha, Peter Yukimura, Michael Yamane, and staff members CEO Bissell and Beth Amaro
 - International
 - Ohair David Iha
 - Members Edmund Acoba, Allan Smith, Phil Tacbian and Peter Yukimura
 - Member Relations
 - Ohair James Mayfield
 - Members Cal Murashige, Allan Smith, Phil Tacbian, and staff member Beth Amaro
 - > Policy
 - ◊ Chair Edmund Acoba
 - Members Cal Murashige, Phil Tacbian, Jan TenBruggencate, General Counsel Laurel Loo, and staff member CEO Bissell

- Strategic Planning
 - ◊ Chair Michael Yamane
 - Members David Iha, James Mayfield, Allan Smith, staff members CEO Bissell and COO Rockwell
- Loan Review
 - Ochair Phil Tacbian
 - Member Peter Yukimura
- Committee of the Whole
 - Ochair Allan Smith
 - All board members
- Nominating Committee
 - ◊ Chair Cal Murashige

MOTION: Director TenBruggencate moved to approve the slate for the committee appointments. Director Murashige seconded the nomination, which carried unanimously.

[Motion: TenBruggencate] [Second: Murashige]

IN FAVOR:	Smith, TenBruggencate, Murashige, Yukimura	
	Acoba, Yamane, Iha, Mayfield, Tacbian	Total – 9
OPPOSED:	None	Total – 0
EXCUSED:	None	Total – 0

Motion carried

7. **Adjournment.** Whereupon there being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 1:08 p.m. by unanimous consent.

Respectfully submitted,

Calvin Murashige Calvin Murashige (Apr 25, 2025 13:27 PDT)

Calvin Murashige Secretary